The 2020-21 Board was installed at the June 18 Club Installation meeting. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s installation was held via ZOOM.  

The meeting began with a slideshow, Puyallup South Hill Rotary…Over the Years, featuring photos of club presidents being installed and celebrated, club members having fun, and event highlights that dated back to the Club’s earliest history.

President-Elect Suzanne Johnston also presented a short video featuring the many reasons club members and guests enjoy their involvement with the club and its various activities.

President Kevin Bates recognizes club accomplishments and members

President Kevin Bates reviewed his year as president citing many club accomplishments. He expressed appreciation to all Club members for their commitment and support over the year. President Kevin recognized two members for their work and dedication to Rotary. Karen Hansen, a Club member since 1995, was named 2020 Rotarian of the Year and Rotarian of the Decade. Bobbi Stephens was honored with the Rising Star Award. Bobbi joined the Club in 2019. Twenty-three club members with perfect attendance, and RI Foundation and Paul Harris recipients were also recognized.  

Suzanne Johnston installed as 2020-21 Club President

Assistant District Governor Jamie Gregory then installed Suzanne Johnston as 2020-2021 Club President followed by the installation of the Board.  Officers for the 2020-2021 year include: Suzanne Johnston, President; Alice Darnton, Correspondence Secretary; Jeff Lieurance, Recording Secretary; Steve Martinez, Financial Reporting Treasurer; John Rodenberg, Banking Treasurer; and Kevin Bates, Past President.  The following were installed as Board members:  Karen Hansen, Club Administration Chair, Bobbi Stephens, Club Service Chair; Pam Larsen, Membership Chair; Ed Pullen, Rotary Foundation Chair; Elizabeth Abbgy, Public Relations Chair; and Trish Cole, Youth Protection Officer.  The new Board begin their work on July 1.