(left to right): Cathy Kirkland, South Hill Collision and Auto Glass (Business), Mary Davis, Emerald Ridge High School (Education), Stephanie Dunkel, Pierce County Health Department (Government), and Michelle Karns, Backpack Kids (Non-Profit Organizations)

Four community leaders were recently recognized by the Puyallup South Hill Rotary Club for their contributions to the community through their vocation.  The recipients of the 2019 Community Vocational Service Award are:

  • Business – Cathy Kirkland, South Hill Collision and Auto Glass
  • Education – Mary Davis, Emerald Ridge High School
  • Government – Stephanie Dunkel, Pierce County Medical Reserve Corps
  • Non-Profit – Michelle Karns, Backpack Kids

The awards were presented at a luncheon which was held in their honor at Pierce College in Puyallup at noon on May 9. The Community Vocational Service Award program was established in 2005 by the Puyallup South Hill Rotary Club in recognition of the 100th anniversary of Rotary International.  Awards are given to community leaders who exhibit excellence in their vocational field, contribute to their community and their field of service, and enhance the image of their vocation.  All recipients are non-Rotarians.

For more information about each of the recipients, refer to the 2019 Community Vocational Awards booklet posted on this site. 

Previous recipients of the Puyallup South Hill Rotary Community Vocational Recognition Award include the following: 

2005 Henry Reitzug
2006 Barbara Cordes
2007 Jim Dawson
2008 John and Joyce Miller
2009 Ron Reznicki
2010 Steven Urback
2011 Ken and JoAnn Scholz
2015 Bill Belknap
2016 Joseph Day
2017 Jane Nichols
2018 Adam Schetselaar

2005 Evelyn Brooks
2006 Debbie Munson
2007 Monte Mingus
2008 Jon Grote
2009 Lisa Kusche
2010 Jon Cerio
2011 Amanda Kraft
2015 Chris Tavern
2016 Maija Thiel
2017 Michael Stocke
2018 Larry Turner

2005 Calvin Goings
2006 Jim Kastama
2007 Marc Gaspard
2008 Dawn Morrell
2009 Kathleen Wolf
2010 Gary Geddes
2011 Ralph Dannenberg
2015 Gary Shilley
2016 Rob Andreotti
2017 Lisa Isaacs
2018 Glen Luebke

Non-Profit Organization
2005 Nola Renz
2006 Chris Mock
2007 Barb Herbert
2008 Bill Bowers
2009 Dave Robbs
2010 Amy Schweim
2011 Lisa Heintz
2015 Shanna Peterson
2016 Sister Pat Michalek
2017 Jan Mauk
2018 Krista Linden