The public is invited to nominate community members for the 13th annual Community Vocational Recognition Awards Program. Community leaders will be recognized by the Puyallup South Hill Rotary Club for their contributions to the community through their vocation.

Nomination Criteria

The criteria for nomination include promoting excellence in one’s vocational field, developing or supporting programs resulting in positive social action, contributing to one’s field of service, mentoring others, enhancing the image of one’s vocation, sustained service in one’s vocation, and other criteria for excellence.

Award Categories

The awards will be given in four categories: Business, Education, Government, and Non-Government/Non-Profit Organizations. Nominees must be non-Rotarians. Preference will be given to nominees who live or work in the South Hill area, the region from the Western Washington Fairgrounds to Graham and from Canyon Road to the valley rim.

Deadline for nominations is April 10, 2020. Click here to download the nomination form. For more information, contact the Puyallup South Hill Rotary Awards Committee at

Recipients will be recognized at a luncheon given in their honor on May 14, 2020, at Pierce College Puyallup.


Previous recipients of the Puyallup South Hill Rotary Community Vocational Recognition Award include the following:


  • Henry Reitzug, Sunrise Medical Campus
  • Barbara Cordes, Buttons and Bows Co-op Preschool
  • Jim Dawson, LPL Financial Services
  • John and Joyce Miller, Puyallup Valley Physical Therapy
  • Ron Reznicki, Top Food
  • Dr. Steven Urback, Puyallup Valley Dental Care
  • Ken and JoAnn Scholtz, Snowshoe Evergreen
  • Bill Belknap, Rainier View Rooter
  • Dr. Joseph Day, East Main Vision
  • Jane Nichols, Windermere Real Estate
  • Adam Schetselaar, Sound Balance Physical Therapy
  • Cathy Kirkland, South Hill Collision and Auto Glass


  • Evelyn Brooks, Pierce College Puyallup
  • Debbie Munson, Rogers High School
  • Monte Mingus, Rogers High School
  • Jon Grote, Pierce College Puyallup
  • Lisa Kusche, Emerald Ridge High School
  • Jon Cerio, Rogers High School
  • Amanda Kraft, Edgerton Elementary School
  • Chris Tavern, Emerald Ridge High School
  • Maija Thiel, Puyallup School District
  • Michael Stocke, Pierce College Puyallup
  • Larry Turner, Puyallup High School
  • Mary Davis, Emerald Ridge High School



  • Calvin Goings, Pierce County Council
  • Jim Kastama, Washington State Senate
  • Marc Gaspard, Washington State Senate
  • Dawn Morrell, Washington State House of Representatives
  • Kathleen Wolf, Pierce County Library System
  • Gary Geddes, Metro Parks, Tacoma
  • Ralph Dannenberg, City of Puyallup
  • Greg Shilley, Puyallup Police Department
  • Rob Andreotti, City of Puyallup
  • Lisa Isaacs, City of Puyallup Police
  • Glen Luebke, Central Pierce Fire and Rescue
  • Stephanie Dunkel, Pierce County Medical Reserve Corps

Non-Profit Organizations:

  • Nola Renz, Helping Hand House
  • Chris Mock, Good Samaritan Hospital
  • Barb Herbert, YMCA of Tacoma-Pierce County
  • Bill Bowers, Friends and Servants
  • Dave Robbs, Poyeho Project
  • Amy Schweim, Immanuel Lutheran Church
  • Lisa Heintz, Helping Hand House
  • Shawna Peterson, Puyallup Food Bank
  • Sister Pat Michalek, St. Francis House
  • Jan Mauk, Communities in Schools Puyallup
  • Krista Linden, Step by Step
  • Michelle Karns, Backpack Kids